Siddaramaiah denied second seat ; Safadi fielded from Athena

Bengaluru : Congress released on Saturday its third list of 43 candidates for the May 10 assembly elections in Karnataka , fielding BJP veteran and former deputy chief minister Laxman Safadi from Athena assembly seat while denying seasoned Congressman and former CM Saddar Maliah a second seat in addition to Varina , from where he has already been named as a candidate .

Congress rejected Siddharth request to contest from Kolar assembly constituency and instead fielded Kothrud G Manjunath from there .

Safadi- a prominent Lingayat face in BJP who had resigned from the legislative council after being denied a ticket to contest from Athena – had joined Congress on Friday .

Siddaramaiah denied second,

While there was speculation that Congress may field Safadi from Athena , political circles were also abuzz with talk of Siddaramaiah’ s chances of being granted a second seat by the party .

By restricting Siddaramaiah to just one seat , Karnataka Congress president DK Sivakumar has gone one up on the former CM since he has been vociferously insisting that nobody will be allowed to contest from two seats , countering an aggressive pitch from the Siddaramaiah camp . In 2018 Siddaramaiah had contested from two seats , Chamundeshwari and Badami , and had won from the latter . This time around , too , the Congress man wanted to contest from two seats Varina and Kolar . However , owing to stiff opposition from within the party fold , he will have to be content with fighting only from Varina .

Siddha Ramaiah was keen on a second seat because he was expecting a tough contest in Varina.

Home Facebook Tour Graphic Design Grocery Karnataka Rishikesh Dandeli Fashion





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *